Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Long weekend

2005-05-31 - 11:56 a.m.

Friday night I skipped out of work early to catch the Dali exhibit for a second time with the ever-gorgeous L and her friend Jeff who's been playing some killer guitar with Cat. Opened the sunroof, rolled down the windows and sunk deeply into the new John Wesley album for the first time as I slid down the backroads into the city. Then felt like a tourist geek as the Museum's directions to their upper deck parking were bad enough I ended up getting stuck on the bridge across into University City. Oops. After the exhibit, L and I sat on the steps in the great hall sipping some wine and listening to some grooving jazz. Wandered out to Rose Tattoo for an overdue catchup and some rare tuna decadence. I nearly fogied out on her as I was planning on getting up super-early, but L convinced me to wander down to Club Habana with her for some tunes. Jeff was playing there with Will Brock. They rocked the place. Brock's got one hell of a stage presence. They wound some excellent soul/R&B/funk and even pulled out some Parliament for their only cover of the evening. Aaah. Must catch him again and couldn't help but snag the cd.

Saturday I drove down to Frederick, MD. Long drive on a bright blue morning gave me a chance to dig deeper into Wes' Shiver and gave first listens to Porcupine Tree's Deadwing, A3's Exile on Coldharbour Lane, and Will Brock's A Letter from Eye to I. Then on to West By God to help prepare for the wedding reception festivities the next day. Sunday was gorgeous with the exception of one quick sprinkle of rain just as the ceremony was about to start, of course, but they say rain is lucky for a wedding. I think the shared laughter, tears and love were darned lucky enough, but every little bit helps. The company, food, music and lynchburg lemonades were all spot-on (and how could you not love an event featuring a reggae version of Take Me Home Country Roads??). What a lovely day.

Monday there was girltalk with the wonderful J before heading heading out on the road again. Had a brief though excellent first date that will surely lead to a second and has already led to a cheshire-cat grin and a skip in my step.

Has it really been only 3 days?

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!