Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Celebrational Muppetational

2004-05-27 - 10:37 a.m.

Finally managed to act like an adult long enough to have my taxes done. So I felt like I was productive last night. That is, if drinking a glass of wine and pushing papers in front of the nice man who pleasantly and simultaneously punched numbers into his laptop and calculator whilst hmmmming, quizzing me on my (non) church-going, charitable involvement, and reminding me that yes indeed I am a lucky freak for having such a damn good job actually counts as being productive. All I know is he sorted out my fed, state and local taxes and managed to get me a refund that was less than he'd hoped, but more than I'd counted on, so that felt good.

W, who's been feeling fairly overwhelmed with the workaholicy angst that makes him feel like he's not doing enough of the things he needs to (though he's doing amazing stuff and cubic boatloads of it, I assure you), decided he needed to blow off an evening and relax. So post-taxes and errand, I took him to his favorite Mexican restaurant. MMMM man it was good. My first time there. The menu is long enough to justify proper front matter and a card catalog entry. The beer was lovely and collllld and the food included the most unusual, firm, wonderful cheese. Always a beautiful thing. After dinner, we collapsed on the couch, looking like we'd just devoured a turkey, and watched a few episodes of the Muppet Show I'd netflixed (forgive my transformation of that to a verb. egads). After two episodes, we decided we couldn't stay awake for the third, but we left it on while we brushed our teeth, took out contats and such, so we got sucked in and watched the whole thing anyway. Nothing quite like being right in the middle of a long, wonderful kiss and snorking with laughter by a joke from a 7-foot-tall talking carrot.

I also ended up finally driving over to the site of my old apartment building that burned down to see what they'd eventually done with the site where our buildings had been. They flattened everything out and turned it all into a park-like spot in the complex with grass and a gardeny area. Gone without a trace.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!