Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Not quite a snow day

2004-01-27 - 10:17 a.m.

At least we got to go home at three yesterday and classes were cancelled last night. yay! I left work, though still didn't go home. His place is closer and on better roads and had my laptop and, well, has him. :) He spent his day off at the piano and cleaning and rearranging his living room and getting ready for a show and all sorts of things, but still seemed to feel like he hadn't gotten anything done.

I worked on some poetry and made some real progress for the first time in a while. It's getting closer to what it ought to be. We had some gorgeous pasta and then I headed off with a mug of hot coffee and a script to curl up in the water bed while he taught some piano lessons. The last kid had an incredible little giggle. Completely infectious. I got so relaxed I dozed off for a few minutes, listening to the piano and muffled voices, curling myself tightly into the comforter and the warmth of the bed's heater. aah.

Watched 12 Monkeys for the first time. How on earth I'd not seen that yet, I don't know, but damn! it was cool! :) Popcorn, wine, jama pants and a good flick. aaah again. :) (or continued?)

So I guess in the end, I got much of the snow day I've been seeking. Just had to work a good chunk of the day as well. ;)

Not even delayed openings today. Everybody's figuring they're saving it up for tomorrow. It's doing something wet and gross and cold out there now. I don't know how to tell freezing rain from sleet, but it doesn't look good. It'll be snow again tonight into morning and then I -- oh joy -- will be driving down to DC in the morning. For those who don't know, DC doesn't exactly handle winter weather well. I expect the district to be one mass of grey slushy snow piles.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!