Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

rambly

2004-04-27 - 11:41 p.m.

It's now at least an hour after I told myself I was going to bed. Bed's cold, I feel like crap and am feeling rambly. So, since W's got a gig and escapes this rant, you are now subjected. I apologize in advance.

I'm one of those girls who's not completely low maintenance, though fancies herself to be so. Don't get me wrong, I'm hardly a high-maintenance chick, but this in-between status occasionally manifests itself in the strange desire to Do Something Girly. However, the fact that I'm not ACTUALLY high-maintenance means I often miss the mark.

Exhibit A. I painted my toes. Exactly six of them, since they were the only ones that showed with my shoes. I had to go back days later and paint the others for a different pair. Six red toenails does not a good girlygirl make.

Exhibit B. My skin "routine." Haha I laugh just saying that. All the same, I know I have to get makeup off at night, and most nights I manage to do that, if only to keep down the eyeliner streaks on the pillow cases. It's easy enough to wash my face in the shower, and since I usually shower in the mornings, that means 2x a day isn't so hard most days. My skin's sensitive enough I can't use regular soap unless it becomes socially acceptable to scratch maniacally at my face throughout a business meeting. Until then, I'll use some sort of facial cleanser. Not THE SOAP, mind. Much as I've heard raves about it spreading about blogland, I cheap out way before getting to that sort of price. Hell, I'm too cheap to ante up for neutrogena even, so The Soap never stood a chance with me.

Today I eeked the last remaining blob of my now-unavailable affordable face wash out of its bottle. So while I was at Trader Joe's, I picked up a bottle of Pure Castile Soap. Oh yeah. I forgot all about that stuff. It's the sort of thing you expect to see on an infomercial, it has so many uses. And just like an infomercial, I wouldn't have paid it any attention. However, years ago I had an incident that made me a believer.

I was house/petsitting in a gorgeous old place. After a long day I decided to spend the evening with a good book and a bottle of red wine. As I settled into the couch with my glass and the book, the wonderfully sweet but characteristically hyper black labbish sorta dog pounced upon me, knocking the glass out of my hand and spilling red wine all over the couch. Did I mention the homeowner was also my BOSS? gah. Did I mention this was also a "green" household, so there were no chemical cleaners anywhere in the house? gaaah! With visions of professional cleaning or reupholstering in my head, I attempted some magic armed with nothing but some paper towels, water and a bottle of soap they used for everything from laundry to showers to floors. I woke up the next morning and dreaded going down to check the dried results. The entire spot was GONE. woohoo!

So now I have a bottle. One of the selling points to me was the peppermint thing, which made me think of nice, cool tingly skin aaah. Well, dumbass me decided to use it on my face tonight. When I was already cold and feeling ick and yeah, cool, tingly skin is fine unless you're already feeling too darned cold. brrrr. Cat is currently serving as a heavy, purring muffler.

Well, ramble mode off. I'll resume later. Hope you're all up to some wacky hijinx.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!