Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

rising prices, rising waters, and children rising into the air

2005-08-31 - 1:33 p.m.

Hearing that gas prices were going to rise dramatically again today, I figured I'd best head out at lunch and fill my nearly empty tank. Found one station that hadn't raised the price yet so filled up at $2.69 instead of the $2.99 the other stations had already cranked it to.

At one of the hospitals hit by the hurricane they had to chop down power poles so helicopters could land on the roof of their parking garage all so they could evacuate 30 tiny infants from the neonatal intensive care unit. The adult patients are still stranded inside. The generators are all running out of diesel fuel and the water's taken over the first floor of the hospital.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!