Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! older entries newest entry

Team Misfit

2005-08-29 - 9:38 a.m.

Today I am feeling muscles all up and down my back. It doesn't hurt...there's just a lot of awareness that they are there and they've been busy. I like that feeling.

Friday was a mad rush after work. Massage therapy, grocery store, produce shop, drug store, weedwacking, shower and off to the dragonboat happy hour. Made it there a half-hour late, but still plenty of time for some good chat before my eyelids began to lose the fight against gravity. Saturday went down to Annapolis to help out my Mom in the hospital. She got her first shower in a week and was just thrilled. Since she's allowed to eat and drink again we all had Boston Market together in her hospital room before I headed back up 95 for the night.

Sunday I woke to the sound of rain on the roof. Not exactly the sound one wants to hear on the morning of practice. Threw on my new quick-dry clothes and water shoes and headed to the kitchen to whip up a pile of french toast (no freedom toast here, baby, it's french so there) and grind up some good double dark roast coffee. Took the goods over to the team captain's place for a group breakfast where it was joined with eggs and fresh veggies from the garden of another friend, munchkins, juice, and fantastic multigrain breads. Nice way to kick off the day.

Oddly the guy who looks freakishly like my ex-boyfriend told me over breakfast that I look freakishly like his ex-girlfriend. How weird is that?

Off to practice. There's a journalist writing a story about our team. She watched us starting away from the dock and said our first stroke was beautiful: everyone was in synch and she was impressed. The second stroke, however, our paddles were in every concievable position they could be in. Some were up, some down, some forward. Of course that was when she took her photograph. So it's gonna look like we're Team Misfit. Luckily she said that we looked very smooth after practice as we paddled back to the dock. Clearly she didn't see us when we had to do our quick hit short strokes. We're still off on those. Really like this though. I think we'll make a ton of progress next practice.

Managed a catnap before scrubbing the bathroom. Took ages but it looks so much better now. Caught up on dishes as well as brushing and amusing the attention-starved cat and finally got to see Batman Begins on the IMAX. Niiiiice. I loved the script when I read it and it was nice to see they pulled it off well. Sign me up for a mad affair with Christian Bale pronto.

I was so zonked I headed to bed with my book at 8:30. I doubt I managed to stay awake past 9:15.

Today is lunch out with my department to celebrate graduation. Huzzah. Lovely Italian food and then surely a comatose afternoon.

Pretend it's 10th grade. Leave me a note.

previous - next

eager for some spring fever - 2007-02-20
skyrockets in flight valentine delight - 2007-02-15
tacky Easter to you - 2007-02-12
So Monday - 2007-02-12
iBoxed into a technology corner - 2007-02-06

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!